Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

The Law is changing. U.S Citizens traveling to Europe in the Summer, 2025 will be required to have ETIAS TRAVEL PERMIT in addition to your PASSPORT

ETIAS – The European Travel Information and Authorization System.

U S Citizen passport holders will need ETIAS. (The European Travel Information and Authorization System) to travel to Europe as of January 1, 2024. ETIAS is the new travel permit for Americans and other visa-exempt non-EU citizens visiting European destinations.  U.S. nationals can continue to go to Europe visa-free for short stays with ETIAS.

Americans will need a Passport valid for 6 months before entering European Countries and ETIAS as of January 1, 2024. If staying for longer than 90 days, other specific requirements apply.

Medical insurance is not an ETIAS requirement


  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Croatia
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • Germany
  • France
  • Spain
  • Portugal
  • Sweden
  • Finland
  • Denmark
  • Lithuania
  • Latvia
  • Estonia
  • Poland
  • Slovakia
  • Hungary
  • Slovenia
  • Italy
  • Greece
  • Czech Republic
  • Malta

Non-EU Member States also require ETIAS                                                                                                        

  • Iceland
  • Liechtenstein
  • Norway
  • Switzerland

Micro-States de facto part of Schengen Area

  • Monaco
  • San Marino
  • Vatican City

Non-Schengen EU States, ETIAS required                                                                                  

  • Bulgaria
  • Cyprus
  • Romania

Americans need ETIAS because they are visa-exempt non-EU citizens. Eligible nationalities include British, Australian and Japanese. Information received is checked against databases.

  • Schengen Information System (SIS)— database to identify suspected criminals, missing persons and stolen objects.
  • Visa Information System (VIS)—database to share visa information
  • Eurodac—database storing fingerprints of asylum seekers and irregular migrants

If there is an alert in the system, European authorities know to review the application manually. A decision can then be made on whether to grant travel authorization.

Americans need to apply for ETIAS for any trips to Europe after January 1, 2024. After the first ETIAS has been issued, US citizens need to apply in 3 years’ time or when their passport expires (whichever is sooner). ETIAS is valid with the passport used to apply only.  Americans planning to visit several European countries on one trip do not need to apply for different visa waivers. ETIAS is valid across the Schengen Area.

It is also important to note that an approved ETIAS for American citizens does not guarantee entry to Europe; it grants the holder permission to travel to Schengen countries.  The final decision for entry will be made by an immigration officer at Schengen border control. You do not need to print your ETIAS—it is linked to the passport—but you must travel with the passport you used to apply.

There are regulations and restrictions on carrying weapons, importing and exporting large quantities of tobacco, alcohol or perfume, and declaring large amounts of currency when travelling from the USA to Europe. Travelers must check the latest immigration rules. In addition, travelers must remain in that particular EU Member State. It is not possible to move freely around Europe under the bilateral agreements. Bilateral agreements between the United States and European Union Member States are subject to change.

Finley Bologna International can represent you obtaining your ETIAS and advise you of the information you will need in order to obtain a ETIAS travel permit.  In the case where your ETIAS is denied, we can represent you.  If you are planning to travel to Europe after January 1, 2024, contact us.